

SINGAPORE AND PARTNERS SIGN THE TRANS-PACIFIC PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT

1. Singapore, together with Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, the United States, and Vietnam signed the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement in Auckland, New Zealand today.

2. Singapore's Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade), Mr Lim Hng Kiang, who was in Auckland for the signing ceremony, said, "The signing of the TPP agreement marks an important milestone for regional trade liberalisation. The TPP signatories comprise nearly 40 percent of world trade, and account for over 30 percent of Singapore's total trade. The new and updated trade rules under the TPP will assure Singapore investors and businesses of a more open, predictable and transparent regional marketplace. We look forward to the TPP's ratification as soon as possible, so that our businesses can benefit from increased trade and investment opportunities."

3. The TPP countries will now work towards ratifying the Agreement. Singapore expects the TPP to enter into force within two years, once all 12 countries are ready.

Ministry of Trade and Industry 4 February 2016

For media enquiries, please contact:

Puurani Ragupathy Senior Assistant Director, Corporate Communications Division DID: 6332 7511 / HP: 9451 8220 Email: puurani_ragupathy@mti.gov.sg