





For immediate reporting

DIGITAL ECONOMY PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT JOINT COMMITTEE ESTABLISHES ACCESSION WORKING GROUP FOR THE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

The Digital Economy Partnership Agreement (DEPA) Joint Committee has agreed to establish an Accession Working Group (AWG) for the United Arab Emirates (UAE), following the UAE's application to join the DEPA on 7 June 2023. The AWG will formally commence the accession process for the UAE and examine its compliance with the DEPA's standards and commitments. The AWG will be chaired by Singapore and will comprise government representatives from each DEPA Party.

- 2. Minister-in-charge of Trade Relations Grace Fu said, "Singapore is pleased to serve as Chair of the UAE's Accession Working Group. The UAE's involvement in the DEPA will bolster the open, inclusive and progressive spirit of the DEPA as its first aspirant economy from the Middle East. As Singapore's top trading partner in the Middle East, the UAE's participation also unlocks exciting possibilities for collaboration in digital trade and emerging technologies for Singapore companies."
- 3. The DEPA was signed in June 2020 by Chile, New Zealand, and Singapore. The Republic of Korea acceded to the DEPA in May 2024, as its first new member to join through accession. The DEPA establishes common digital trade rules and fosters cooperation on emerging issues in the digital economy. The DEPA also reduces barriers to the digital economy and simplifies processes, making it easier for Singapore businesses to leverage on digital trade and reach customers across borders. As of June 2025, seven economies have applied to join the DEPA. They are China, Canada, Costa Rica, Peru, the UAE, El Salvador, and Ukraine.

Jointly issued by the Ministry of Trade and Industry, Ministry of Digital Development and Information, and Infocomm Media Development Authority on 30 June 2025

* * * *







For media queries, please contact:

Kenneth Low Senior Assistant Director, Communications and Engagement Division Ministry of Trade and Industry Email: kenneth low@mti.gov.sg

Pauline Tan
Senior Manager, Communications and Engagement Division
Ministry of Digital Development and Information
Email: pauline tan@mddi.gov.sg

Adeline Lee Assistant Director, Communications and Marketing Infocomm Media Development Authority Email: adeline lee@imda.gov.sg