



BOARD CHANGES AT THE ENERGY MARKET AUTHORITY

1. The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) today announced that Mr Richard Lim will relinquish his appointment as Chairman of the Energy Market Authority (EMA) on 30 September 2025. Mrs Tan Ching Yee will be appointed Deputy Chairperson from 1 June 2025 to 30 September 2025 and will assume the Chairperson position from 1 October 2025 to 31 March 2027.

2. Under Mr Lim's leadership, EMA has undertaken important moves to strengthen Singapore's energy security, including the set-up of Meranti Power to develop fast start power generation and the establishment of the Centralised Gas Procurement Framework. He has also been instrumental in advancing Singapore's energy transition, such as the deployment of solar energy, the pursuit of low-carbon electricity imports from the region and ongoing studies on the feasibility of other low-carbon technologies such as hydrogen and geothermal energy.

3. Dr Beh Swan Gin, Permanent Secretary at MTI said, "On behalf of MTI, I would like to express our deep appreciation to Richard for his invaluable contributions to EMA. He has been instrumental in guiding EMA since April 2020 as Chairman. I am confident that Ching Yee will build on Richard's contributions and steer EMA to new heights."

(The write-up of Mrs Tan and the full list of Board Members of EMA can be found in Annex A and Annex B respectively.)

MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 30 May 2025

For media queries, please contact:

Kenneth Low Senior Assistant Director, Communications and Engagement Division Email: <u>Kenneth_low@mti.gov.sg</u>



100 High Street, #09-01, The Treasury, Singapore 179434
www.mti.gov.sg

in f @ 🕅 MTI Singapore





For Immediate Reporting

ANNEX A

New EMA Deputy Chairperson



Mrs Tan Ching Yee Former Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mrs Tan, 60, retired from the public service on 1 May 2025, following a career that began in 1986. She has served in various appointments in the Ministries of Trade and Industry, Education, then-Information, Communications and the Arts, and Health.

In 2016, Mrs Tan was concurrently appointed as Permanent Secretary (Finance) and Permanent Secretary (Prime Minister's Office) (Special Duties).

During COVID-19, she oversaw critical relief measures for families and businesses through the use of reserves.

Mrs Tan represented Singapore as G20 Finance Deputy and Sherpa for nine years, advancing Singapore's international interests at international and regional forums.

In her various leadership roles, she has consistently emphasised people and leadership development, nurturing of a culture of excellence and teamwork.

In recognition of her contributions to the Public Service. Mrs Tan was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 2008 and the Meritorious Service Medal in 2018.



♀ 100 High Street, #09-01, The Treasury, Singapore 179434

www.mti.gov.sg

in f 💿 🔊 MTI Singapore





For Immediate Reporting

ANNEX B

EMA Board Members (as of 1 June 2025)

Chairman

Mr Richard Lim Cherng Yih Chairman Synapxe Pte Ltd

Deputy Chairperson

Mrs Tan Ching Yee Former Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance

Members

Mr Puah Kok Keong Chief Executive Energy Market Authority

Mr Abdul Wahab Bin Mohd Yusoff Founding Partner and Acting CEO Rekanext Capital Partners Pte Ltd

Professor Dipti Srinivasan Provost's Chair Professor Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering National University of Singapore

Professor Julian Wright Lim Chong Yah Professor Department of Economics National University of Singapore

Ms Lim Pek Suat Group Chief Financial Officer PSA International Pte Ltd

Er. Dr Lock Kai Sang Professor (Engineering) & Head Energy Efficiency Technology Centre Singapore Institute of Technology



♀ 100 High Street, #09-01, The Treasury, Singapore 179434

😚 www.mti.gov.sg

in f 💿 🕅 MTI Singapore





Mr Ngien Hoon Ping Group Chief Executive Officer SMRT Corporation Ltd

Ms Paula Conboy Board Member PJM Interconnection

Mr Premod P. Thomas Executive Director / CEO Capital Insights Pte. Ltd

Mr Tan Chuan Thye, Senior Counsel Partner Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP

Mr Wong Hong Kuan Deputy Secretary (Management) Ministry of Foreign Affairs



100 High Street, #09-01, The Treasury, Singapore 179434www.mti.gov.sg

in f 💿 🕅 MTI Singapore