

# BOARD CHANGES AT THE SINGAPORE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT BOARD

- 1. The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) today announced board changes at the Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB). These changes will take effect on 1 February 2022.
- 2. MTI has appointed one new Member and re-appointed five Members to the Board of EDB:

## Appointment of New Board Member

 Mr Desmond Choo Pey Ching Assistant Secretary-General National Trades Union Congress

## Re-Appointment of Board Members

- Mr Alexander Charles Hungate Chief Operating Officer Grab Holdings Inc.
- Mr Forrest Li Founder, Chairman & Group CEO Sea Ltd
- Mr Gan Seow Kee
   Vice Chairman & Honorary Treasurer
   Singapore Business Federation
- Ms Liew Wei Li
   Deputy Director-General of Education (Schools) and Director of Schools
   Ministry of Education
- Mr Magesvaran Suranjan
   President
   P&G (Asia Pacific, Middle East & Africa)

# In Appreciation

- 3. The following Board Members will be stepping down upon the completion of their term on 31 January 2022.
  - Mr Patrick Tay Teck Guan Assistant Secretary-General National Trades Union Congress



- Ms Tan Hooi Ling Co-founder Grab
- 4. MTI would like to thank the outgoing Board Members for their contributions and welcome the new members to the EDB Board.

(The write-up of the new Board member, and the full list of Board members of EDB can be found in <u>Annex</u>.)

<b>MINISTRY OF TRADE</b>	AND INDUSTRY
31 JANUARY 2022	

For media queries, please contact:

Judith Chew
Senior Assistant Director, Communications and Engagement Division
Email: <u>Judith\_Chew@mti.gov.sq</u>



Annex

## **New EDB Board Member**



# Mr Desmond Choo Pey Ching Assistant Secretary-General National Trades Union Congress

Desmond Choo is a Member of Parliament for the Tampines Group Representative Constituency and the Adviser to the Tampines Changkat Grassroots Organisations. Concurrently, he is the Mayor of North East District. Desmond oversees social and community development for 20 constituencies.

Desmond is also the Assistant Secretary-General and Director of Policy Division at NTUC. He oversees economic and social policies, strategic communications and international affairs. He is also the Executive Secretary of the Union of Telecoms Employees of Singapore and Advisor to the Young NTUC Committee.

Within the Labour Movement, Desmond is the Advisor to the Attractions, Resorts & Entertainment Union, Singapore Union of Broadcasting Employees and Union of Security Employees. He is also the Trustee of Singapore Shell Employees' Union.

Desmond also sits on the Board of Directors for Surbana Jurong Pte Ltd and SBSTransit Ltd.

Prior to joining NTUC, Desmond served in various roles in the Singapore Police Force (SPF), Ministry of Manpower and the private sector. He was the Senior Vice President, Investments of Kestrel Capital Pte Ltd. He was also instrumental in leading the acquisition of La Liga's Valencia CF and development of the non-profit Foundation of Valencia CF. He was on the Board of the Foundation of Valencia CF and provided advice on the development of Hotel Football in Manchester, United Kingdom.

Desmond was awarded the SPF Overseas Merit Scholarship in 1997 to study Economics at the University of Chicago.



## **EDB Board Members (as at 1 February 2022)**

### Chairman

Dr Beh Swan Gin Chairman Singapore Economic Development Board

#### **Members**

Ms Jacqueline Poh Managing Director Singapore Economic Development Board

Mr Desmond Choo Pey Ching Assistant Secretary-General National Trades Union Congress

Mr Gan Seow Kee Vice Chairman & Honorary Treasurer Singapore Business Federation

Ms Cindy Hook Chief Executive Officer Deloitte Asia Pacific

Mr Alexander Charles Hungate Chief Operating Officer Grab Holdings Inc.

Mr Forrest Li Founder, Chairman and Group CEO Sea Limited

Ms Liew Wei Li Deputy Director-General of Education (Schools) & Director of Schools Ministry of Education

Mr Loh Boon Chye
Chief Executive Officer
Singapore Exchange Limited

Mr Loh Chin Hua Chief Executive Officer Keppel Corporation Limited



Professor Ilian Lubomirov Mihov Dean INSEAD

Mr Png Cheong Boon Chief Executive Officer Enterprise Singapore

Mr Magesvaran Suranjan
President
Procter & Gamble (Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa)

Mr Irving Tan Chairman Cisco, Asia Pacific, Japan, Greater China (APJC)

Mr Tan Wern-Yuen Chief Executive Officer PepsiCo Asia Pacific, Australia, New Zealand and China (APAC)