

BOARD CHANGES AT THE COMPETITION AND CONSUMER COMMISSION OF SINGAPORE AND THE SINGAPORE TOURISM BOARD

The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) today announced board changes at the Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore (CCCS) and the Singapore Tourism Board (STB). The changes will take effect from 1 January 2022.

Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore (CCCS)

2 The following are the newly appointed board members.

Appointment of New Board Members

- Ms Aurill Kam Director Legal Clinic LLC
- Associate Prof Walter Edgar Theseira Associate Professor of Economics & Head, Master of Management (Urban Transportation) Singapore University of Social Sciences

(The write-ups of the new board members, and the full list of board members can be found in <u>Annex A</u> and <u>Annex B</u> respectively.)

Singapore Tourism Board (STB)

3 The following are the newly appointed, and reappointed board members.

Appointment of New Board Members

- Mr Arthur Lang Group Chief Financial Officer Singtel
- Ms Soh Siew Choo Managing Director, Group Head of Big Data / Artificial Intelligence and Consumer Banking Technology DBS Bank

Re-appointment of Board Members

 Mr Aaron Maniam Deputy Secretary (Industry & Information) Ministry of Communications and Information



- Mr Lim Eng Hwee Chief Executive Officer Urban Redevelopment Authority
- Mr Ravi Thakran Chairman & Chief Executive Officer Turmeric Capital; Aspirational Consumer Lifestyle Corp, USA

(The write-ups of the new board members, and the full list of board members can be found in <u>Annex C</u> and <u>Annex D</u> respectively.)

4 Mr Allen Law, Chief Executive Officer, Park Hotel Group; Ms Joanna Flint, Chief Commercial Officer, Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group; and Mr Prasad Menon, Former Chairman, Vistara Airlines, will be stepping down from the STB Board upon the completion of their term on 31 December 2021.

In Appreciation

5 MTI extends its appreciation to Mr Allen Law, Ms Joanna Flint and Mr Prasad Menon for their contributions, and welcomes all the new board members of CCCS and STB.

MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 30 December 2021

For media queries, please contact:

Dhivya Rani Senior Assistant Director Communications and Engagement Division, Ministry of Trade and Industry Tel: 9061 6294 Email: dhivya_rani_selvakumar@mti.gov.sg

Eoin Ee Senior Assistant Director Communications and Engagement Division, Ministry of Trade and Industry Tel: 9273 7498 Email: <u>eoin_ee@mti.gov.sg</u>



Annex A

New CCCS Board Members



Ms Aurill Kam Director Legal Clinic LLC Ms Aurill Kam is Director of Legal Clinic LLC. A senior litigator with significant private practice and public sector experience, Ms Kam has acted in a wide range of complex civil commercial, regulatory enforcement, investigative and public law matters. Ms Kam has also argued cases involving significant questions of law at both first instance and appellate stages.

Ms Kam started her litigation practice with Rajah & Tann in 1992, made partner in 1996 and headed its Banking & Financial Services Litigation Practice from 1999 to 2002. She was headhunted to join Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) in 2002 as MAS' first Director of Enforcement and later served as the Head of its Markets & Business Conduct Department. Ms Kam returned to Rajah & Tann in 2007 to establish and co-lead its Appeal & Issues Practice until 2012. Ms Kam spent a second stint in public service as Deputy Chief counsel (Litigation) at the Attorney-General's Chambers (Civil Division) from 2012 to September 2017, where she had responsibilities for AGC's civil litigation function.

Ms Kam is presently a Board Member of PUB – Singapore's National Water Agency. She is also a Civilian Panel Member of the Military Court of Appeal, and a Member of the MAS Appeal Advisory Panel. In addition, Ms Kam is a Panel Adjudicator of the Financial Industry Disputes Resolution Centre, and Member of the Rules of Court Working Party.



Assoc Prof Walter Edgar Theseira Associate Prof Walter Theseira is Associate Professor of Economics, and Head of the Master of Management (Urban Transportation) programme at the Singapore University of Social Sciences.

Assoc Prof Theseira's areas of interest include microeconomics and behavioural economics. His research has been published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences and the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organisation. His policy research includes studying the licensed moneylending market in Singapore with the Ministry of Law,



| Associate Professor of Economics & Head, Master of Management | vehicle quota auctions with the Land Transport Authority, and the Singapore Retirement and Health Study. Assoc Prof Theseira has served as a research |
|--|--|
| (Urban Transportation) Singapore University of Social Sciences | consultant/advisor with the Economist Service of the Ministry of Trade and Industry, the Ministry of National Development, the Ministry of Social and Family Development, and with the Civil Service College. |
| | A former Nominated Member of Parliament, Assoc Prof Theseira was also previously Honorary Secretary of the Economic Society of Singapore (ESS). |
| | Assoc Prof Theseira received his PhD in Applied Economics and Managerial Science from the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School. He also has an MA in International relations, and a BA in Economics from the University of Chicago. |



<u>Annex B</u>

CCCS Board Members (with effect from 1 Jan 2022)

Chairman

Mr Max Loh Khum Whai Managing Partner, Singapore & Brunei Ernst & Young

Members

Ms Sia Aik Kor Chief Executive Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore

Mr Jaspal Singh S/O Gurbachan Singh Senior Research Fellow Institute of Policy Studies

Ms Aurill Kam Director Legal Clinic LLC

Mr Kan Yut Keong, Benjamin Retired Accountant PricewaterhouseCoopers

Ms Cindy Khoo Seow Chyng Deputy Secretary Strategy Group Prime Minister's Office

Ms Agnes Koh Puay Eng Chief Risk Officer Singapore Exchange

Ms Loo Siew Yee Assistant Managing Director Monetary Authority of Singapore

Ms Chandra Mallika Chief Operating Officer (Asia Pacific) & Deputy Chief Country Officer Deutsche Bank, Singapore



Mr Hri Kumar Nair

Deputy Attorney-General Attorney-General's Chambers

FOR IMMEDIATE REPORTING

Associate Prof Walter Edgar Theseira Associate Professor of Economics & Head, Master of Management (Urban Transportation) Singapore University of Social Sciences

Prof Euston Quah Professor and Head, Division of Economics Nanyang Technological University

Prof Wong Poh Kam Professor, Department of Strategy and Policy School of Business National University of Singapore

Dr Faizal Bin Yahya Senior Research Fellow Institute of Policy Studies



Annex C

New STB Board Members





<u>Annex D</u>

STB Board Members (with effect on 1 Jan 2022)

Chairman

Mr Chaly Mah Chee Keong Chairman Singapore Tourism Board

Members

Mr Aaron Maniam Deputy Secretary (Industry & Information) Ministry of Communications and Information

Mr Arthur Lang Group Chief Financial Officer Singtel

Ms Audrey Kuah Former Executive Director, Media Practice - Asia Pacific Dentsu Aegis Network

Mr Keith Tan Kean Loong (Ex-officio) Chief Executive Singapore Tourism Board

Mr Lim Eng Hwee Chief Executive Officer Urban Redevelopment Authority

Mr Mohamad Saiful Saroni Partner PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP Singapore

Mr Ravi Thakran Chairman & Chief Executive Officer Turmeric Capital; Aspirational Consumer Lifestyle Corp, USA



Ms Soh Siew Choo Managing Director, Group Head of Big Data / Artificial Intelligence and Consumer Banking Technology DBS Bank

Ms Thien Kwee Eng (Ex-officio) Chief Executive Officer Sentosa Development Board

Mrs Wong Ai Ai Principal Baker McKenzie Wong & Leow