

#### FOR IMMEDIATE REPORTING

#### NEW CHAIRMAN AT THE COMPETITION APPEAL BOARD

- The Ministry of Trade and Industry today announced that Mr Tan Puay Boon, former Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court, will be appointed as Chairman of the Competition Appeal Board (CAB) with effect from 1 September 2021. He will succeed the late Mr Goh Joon Seng who had held the position since September 2013.
- 2 Mr Tan brings to the role over 30 years of experience in the Singapore Legal Service. Mr Tan completed a three-year term as Judicial Commissioner in March 2021 where he oversaw a variety of cases in the High Court. Prior to this, he was the Principal District Judge of the Civil Justice Division from 2015 to 2018. He was appointed Director of the Legal Aid Bureau, Ministry of Law, in 2007 and was concurrently the Chief Information Officer of the Ministry from 2013 to 2015.
- 3 The CAB is an independent body comprising members appointed by the Minister of Trade and Industry. Under the Competition Act, the CAB hears appeals against decisions of the Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore (CCCS).

# MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY 31 AUGUST 2021

### For media enquiries, please contact:

Naadiah Badib Assistant Director Communications and Engagement Division Ministry of Trade and Industry

Tel: 63325083

E-mail: Naadiah\_Badib@mti.gov.sg



## **Annex**

# List of CAB members

1	Mr Tan Puay Boon (Chairman)
2	Mr Shanker Iyer (Member)
3	Mr Tan Ying Hsien (Member)
4	Dr Tan Kim Song (Member)
5	Dr Julian Wright (Member)
6	Mr Manu Bhaskaran (Member)
7	Mr Andre Yeap (Member)
8	Mr Hong Tuck Kun (Member)
9	Mr Tan Chuan Thye (Member)
10	Mr Tan Tee Jim (Member)
11	Mr Wong Meng (Member)
12	Dr Burton Ong (Member)