

### **FOR IMMEDIATE REPORTING**

# LEADERSHIP AND BOARD CHANGES AT THE SINGAPORE TOURISM BOARD

1. The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) announced today leadership and board changes at the Singapore Tourism Board (STB). The changes will take effect from 1 January 2024.

## Leadership Change at STB

2. Mr Chaly Mah Chee Kheong, will relinquish his appointment as Chairman of STB from 1 January 2024 after serving the Board for seven years. Mr Olivier Lim, Chairman of PropertyGuru Group Ltd and Starhub Ltd, as well as current Deputy Chairman of STB, will be appointed as Chairman of STB.

## Mr Olivier Lim (林之高)

- 3. Mr Olivier Lim is currently Lead Independent Director of DBS Group Holdings Ltd and DBS Bank Ltd, and Chairman of PropertyGuru Group Ltd and Starhub Ltd. He is also a Director of Raffles Medical Group and serves on the MAS Securities Industry Council. He was appointed Deputy Chairman at STB in January 2023.
- 4. Prior to this, Mr Lim was also Chairman of Certis CISCO Security Pte Ltd, ASX listed Australand Holdings Limited, Frasers Property Australia, globalORE Pte Ltd, Mount Faber Leisure Group, and the Advisory Council of the Singapore CFO Institute.
- 5. He has also held directorships in several SGX-listed companies including Banyan Tree Holdings, CapitaMalls Asia, and served on the Boards of JTC Corporation, Sentosa Development Corporation and the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority.

### Mr Chaly Mah Chee Keong (马志强)

6. Mr Chaly Mah assumed the position of Chairman of STB on 1 January 2017. During his tenure, Mr Mah led the Board to implement key initiatives and strategies that contributed to the strong tourism performance pre-pandemic. Under his leadership, STB was successful in increasing International Visitor Arrivals (IVA), Tourism Receipts (TR) and grew our mindshare globally, achieving record highs in IVA and TR of 19.1 million and S\$27.7 billion respectively in 2019.





- 7. When faced with unprecedented challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, Mr Mah guided the Board in supporting the tourism sector to innovate and transform in order to emerge stronger from the pandemic. Under his leadership, STB launched the SingapoRediscovers Campaign to drive local demand for tourism products, the SingapoReimagine initiative to build anticipation for resumption of international travel, as well as Tcube to offer digital initiatives and resources that support tourism businesses in their digital transformation journey. These initiatives have enabled STB to strengthen local advocacy and engagement, maintain mindshare with our international audience, as well as propel tourism companies to jumpstart their business transformation.
- 8. In recognition of his unwavering commitment and outstanding contributions to the tourism sector, Mr Mah was awarded the Public Service Star Medal during the 2022 National Day awards.

# Other Board Changes at STB

9. The following are the newly appointed, and re-appointed board members to STB.

# Appointment of New Board Members

- Mr Amrin Amin, Head (Corporate Development), Temasek Foundation
- Mr Lee Seow Hiang, Chief Executive Officer, Changi Airport Group

### Re-Appointment of Board Members

- Mr Arthur Lang, Group Chief Financial Officer, Singtel
- Ms Soh Siew Choo, Chief Information Officer for Asia, MetLife

(The write-ups of the new board members, and the full list of board members can be found in Annex A and Annex B respectively.)

- 10. In addition to Mr Mah, the following board members will be stepping down from the Board of STB upon the completion of their term on 31 December 2023.
  - Mr Lim Eng Hwee, Chief Executive Officer, Urban Redevelopment Authority
  - Mr Ravi Thakran, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Turmeric Capital; Aspirational Consumer Lifestyle Corp, USA

### In Appreciation

11. Mr Beh Swan Gin, Permanent Secretary (Development) for MTI said, "I would like to thank Chaly for his invaluable contributions during his tenure as



Chair of STB. Under Chaly's leadership, STB executed important initiatives that contributed to our robust tourism performance. I am confident that Olivier's extensive experience will position him well to take STB towards its next phase of growth."

12. MTI extends its appreciation to Mr Mah and the abovementioned outgoing board members for their contributions; and welcomes all new board members.

Ministry of Trade and Industry 29 December 2023

For media enquiries, please contact:

Dhivya Rani

Senior Assistant Director, Communications and Engagement Division

Email: dhivya\_rani\_selvakumar@mti.gov.sg



#### Annex A

## **New STB Board Members**



Mr Amrin Amin Head (Corporate Development) Temasek Foundation

Mr Amrin Amin is Head of Corporate Development at Temasek Foundation.

Mr Amrin was Senior Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of Home Affairs and the Ministry of Health, and Member of Parliament for Sembawang GRC from 2015 to 2020.

Prior to political office, he was a corporate lawyer in Singapore and New York, specialising in mergers and acquisitions, strategic investments and corporate restructurings.

Mr Amrin's experience in tech companies include stints as Strategy Director at the PBA International Pte Ltd and advisor at Adera Al Pte Ltd.



Mr Lee Seow Hiang Chief Executive Officer Changi Airport Group

Mr Lee Seow Hiang is CEO of Changi Airport Group. He is concurrently Chairman of Changi Airports International Pte Ltd, Changi Foundation Limited and Jewel Changi Airport companies.

Mr Lee also chairs the National Library Board and sits on the Board of NTUC FairPrice Cooperative Ltd. He holds the appointment of Immediate Past President on the Airports Council International (ACI) Asia-Pacific Regional Board and is a Director on the ACI World Governing Board.

From 1989 to 2005, Mr Lee held various appointments in the Republic of Singapore Air Force ("RSAF") and the Ministry of Defence, with his last appointment being Deputy Head of Air Operations in HQ RSAF. From 2005 to 2008, he was the Principal Private Secretary to the late Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew in the Prime Minister's Office.



**Annex B** 

# STB Board Members (as at 1 Jan 2024)

#### Chairman

Mr Olivier Lim, Chairman, PropertyGuru Group Ltd and Starhub Ltd

#### **Members**

- Ms Melissa Ow Yin-Mei, Chief Executive, Singapore Tourism Board
- Ms Thien Kwee Eng, Chief Executive Officer, Sentosa Development Board
- Dr Ho Kaiwei, Deputy Secretary (Services), Ministry of Health
- Mr Arthur Lang, Group Chief Financial Officer, Singapore Telecommunications Limited
- Ms Soh Siew Choo, Chief Information Officer for Asia, MetLife
- Ms Audrey Kuah, Chief Executive Officer, Asia Pacific, Wunderman Thompson
- Mrs Wong Ai Ai, Former Principal, Baker McKenzie Wong & Leow
- Mr Rajeev Menon, President, Marriott International Inc, Asia Pacific excluding China (APEC)
- Mr Amrin Amin, Head (Corporate Development), Temasek Foundation
- Mr Lee Seow Hiang, Chief Executive Officer, Changi Airport Group